skip to Main Content

Bring Books to Life. Volunteer on Read United Day.

SAVANNAH, GA (April 23, 2020) – Moving forward with the business of the organization since canceling the Annual Meeting and Awards Luncheon due to the COVID-19 pandemic, United Way of the Coastal Empire announced the officers and directors who will serve on the 2020-2021 board. Comprised of business and community leaders, board members help further United Way’s mission through their decision-making, governance and counsel, as well as maintaining the highest levels of stewardship, while improving the lives of people in Bryan, Chatham, Effingham, and Liberty Counties. Vice President and General Manager of WTOC-TV, Larry Silbermann, will serve as the Chairman to the Board of Directors, replacing Toby Moreau.

“I am excited by this opportunity to serve our community through United Way. I’d like to thank Toby and our retiring board members for their mentorship, support, and tireless efforts that have set us on the path to continued success,” stated Larry Silbermann. “These volunteer leaders set the bar high with their clear vision and goal-oriented leadership, and I look forward to following their legacy as we lead United Way into a new chapter. As the organization continues to grow at a record pace, I am excited to work with the dedicated team at United Way as we continue the excellent work already in progress to help our friends and neighbors who are facing an unprecedented challenge.”

Serving as members of the executive committee are:

• BOARD CHAIR: Larry Silbermann, WTOC-TV

• BOARD VICE-CHAIR: Jeff O’Connor, First Citizens Bank


• SECRETARY: Mark Bennett, Gulfstream Aerospace

• TREASURER & FINANCE CHAIR: Jeff Joyner, Truist

• CAMPAIGN CHAIR: Chief Terry Enoch, Savannah-Chatham County Public School System

• CAMPAIGN VICE-CHAIR: Cecilia Russo Turner, Cecilia Russo Marketing





• Michael Kaigler, Chatham County

• Jamie McCurry, Georgia Ports Authority

• Ryan Sewell, Sterling Seacrest Platinum Partners

• Taffanye Young, City of Savannah

Joining the executive committee as new members of the board are:

• Kimberly Ballard-Washington, Savannah State University

• Ryan Chandler, Colonial Group

• Truitt Eavenson, Georgia Power

• Alex Floyd, City of Pembroke

• Susan Hancock, Abshire Public Relations

• William Hubbard, Savannah Chamber of Commerce

• Libby Kessler, Lakeview Manor Community

• Joseph Tallent, Effingham Health System

• Dr. Michael Toma, Georgia Southern University

• Jason Usry, WJCL-TV

• Alderwoman Linda Wilder-Bryan, City of Savannah

Board members being nominated to complete another one-year term are:

· Nathan Benson, Chatham County

· Alex Floyd, City of Pembroke

· Stephanie Jones-Heath, Diversity Health Center

· Libby Kessler, Lakeview Manor Community

For a complete list of 2020-2021 United Way of the Coastal Empire’s Board of Directors, visit

United Way thanked seven members whose terms have expired and will step off the board: Carol Bell, Community Volunteer; Jenny Gentry, Chase; Trey Glendye, Colonial Group; Drew Hunt, Community Volunteer; Pat Monahan, City of Savannah; Steve Pound, St. Joseph’s/Candler Health System; and Judge Greg Sapp, Chatham County.

The Board of Directors and the staff of United Way would also like to thank outgoing board chair Toby Moreau, for his outstanding leadership and commitment to the organization during the past year.

“I am sincerely grateful for Toby’s dedicated leadership over the past year, and most especially since I started with the organization in early February. I am glad he will continue his service on the board as immediate past chair,” said Brynn Grant, President and CEO of United Way of the Coastal Empire. “Toby has given far more of his time and expertise than many could or would have and our team, our organization and our community are indebted to him.”

Back To Top